Drinking and driving is a punishable offense. The victims go through a terrible time recovering from the accident. On the other hand, the offender roams free if you don’t take quick action. Hiring an experienced North Port drunk driving accident lawyer to fight your case can help you receive significant compensation for your damages. The offender is liable to pay for his mistakes. And at Winters and Yonker, we make sure you get your deserved compensation. Call our personal injury lawyers at (888) 373-7770 right away to file your case and take a step toward nailing the offender down.
Table of Contents
Drunk Driving Statistics In Florida
North Port has the second-highest deaths for DUI-related cases. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports, more than 1000 people died in DUI car accidents last year. The NHTSA further reported that most of the offenders of these accidents and deaths are between 25 and 29 years. Drinking and driving is the top reason for fatal car accidents throughout Florida. The state is taking action to bring this number down by implementing stricter rules.
What Are The BAC Limits In Florida?
Florida is now stricter than before to prevent its rising DUI cases. Here are some of the highlights of their new rules that every driver should keep in mind:
- Driving with 0.08% BAC or above is illegal for drivers above 21.
- The BAC level for minors is 0.02%.
- The police will suspend the driving of a first-time minor offender of the BAC level is 0.02%. The convict must also attend an alcohol education program. Minor convicts with a 0.08% BAC level should pay between $500 and $1000 as a fine, spend 6 months in jail, and get a 6 to 8 months license suspension. The offender also needs to provide 50 hours of community service.
- Adults over 21 years caught with a 0.08% BAC level for the first time may have to pay a fine of up to $2000. The convict also gets a 6-month license suspension, spends 50 hours of community service, and remains in jail for 6 months.
- Second-time offenders may spend up to 12 months in jail, pay a fine between $1000 and $4000, receive a license suspension for 1 year, and see their cars impounded for 30 days.
- Additionally, the judge may ask to install an Ignition Interlock Device.
What To Do After An Accident With A Drunk Driver
What is the severity of your injury? The answer can play a big role in your case. If you encounter a minor injury but still need enough medical attention, take help from people to reach the nearest hospital. However, there are a few things that you can do before reaching the hospital that can help us win the case on your behalf.
Collecting enough pieces of evidence ensures that you receive the maximum amount of compensation from the offender. The best way to collect evidence is by clicking as many pictures of the accident spot as possible. From damaged lamp posts to tire marks, don’t miss anything. Our lawyers will assess the photos carefully to set up the case.
Don’t forget to call 911 to get immediate help from the nearby police. It will help the police track the offender down quickly if you can remember his vehicle number. If you can’t, describe the entire incident in detail. Ask eyewitnesses to tell the police what they saw. These are crucial to bringing the case in your favor.
Call Winters and Yonker
Leave the job of filing a case against the offender on us. We know the entire legal procedure like the back of our palm. All you need to do is call our office at (888) 373-7770, tell us your location, and describe the incident in short. We will send an experienced lawyer to your place as soon as possible.
What Damages Can You Recover Through A Drunk Driving Accident Claim In Florida?
DUI accidents may result in severe injuries, leading to life-long impairment of one of your limbs. Or maybe, you take weeks to recover. Most importantly, you end up paying a significant amount as medical bills and doctor’s fees. You shouldn’t be the one bearing these expenses. The convict must pay for these things. Here are some of the damages you can recover after a DUI accident in North Port, Florida:
- Medical bills – The offender is liable to pay for your medicines, doctor’s fees, physiotherapy sessions, counseling, and transportation cost to take you to the hospital. We will ensure that the offender reimburses every last dime you spend on the treatments after meeting with the accident.
- Punitive expenses – It’s impossible to evaluate the value of a lost life. But our car accident lawyers will do their best to receive the maximum amount of money possible from the convict if your loved one dies in a DUI accident.
- Lost work hours – Severe injuries may take a long time to recover. Your employer may not want to pay for the hours you don’t work. How will you support your family if you don’t get any money? We will set up the case so the judge orders the offender to pay for your lost work hours.
How Long Do I Have To File A Claim In Florida?
We understand that recovering from an injury takes time. But you should contact us and the police as soon as possible so that we can investigate the crime scene and proceed with the legal procedures. It is best not to delay your case because it gives the defense enough time to set up their case and make a plea deal where they don’t have to pay significantly.
Schedule A Free Consultation With A North Port Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer
We assure you that our service charges won’t bother you. Our team will only charge a nominal fee if we win the case. Winters and Yonker is the leading personal injury law firm in North Port, Florida. Don’t hesitate to call us because we can provide you the highest compensation that you deserve.