Many people living in Florida are not aware of their legal rights of being compensated for slip and fall accidents while on commercial or residential property. Because of this reason, many victims who sustain severe or minor injuries after a slip and fall accident end up carrying the burden of settling the cost of treatment for injuries sustained.
Whether the slip and fall accident took place at a local store or workplace, you have the right to be compensated for any injuries sustained as long as you were not at fault. Therefore, if you sustain any injuries as a result of a fall accident, contact the North Port slip and fall lawyers at Winter And Yonker. Our personal injury attorneys will start by reviewing your case for free and advising you on your best legal options.
Table of Contents
How Can A North Port Slip And Fall Lawyer Help With My Case?
These cases are usually complicated, which is why you need an experienced lawyer by your side. Besides filing your case, our attorneys their resources to build a strong case, including working with expert witnesses and investigators to find new evidence. Moreover, with our help, you can be sure that your rights are protected and that you will get a fair settlement.
What You Should do After Being Injured In A Slip and Fall
Taking these steps can help strengthen your slip and fall claim significantly:
After being involved in a slip and fall accident, the first thing that you should do is take photos at the scene. Make sure that you capture every detail including, the cause of the accident, injuries that can be seen, and the location.
Report The Incident To A Manager
If the accident occurred at a local store, report the matter to the manager or to someone else who is in charge. Moreover, make sure that the manager writes a report concerning the accident and you get a copy of the report.
Take Down The Names And Numbers Of Witnesses
It is advisable that you take down the names and contact details of witnesses so that you can use their testimony to prove your case. Therefore, make sure that you take down the names and numbers of at least two or three witnesses.
Seek Medical Attention
If you sustain severe injuries as a result of a slip and fall accident, seek medical attention immediately. You can call an ambulance or ask someone else to do it for you.
If You Can, See If The Problem Is Addressed Right Away
If the slip and fall accident occurred as a result of negligence, such as not drying the surface properly after cleaning, talk to the person responsible to prevent similar slip and fall accidents in the future.
How Can A Slip And Fall Accident Be Proven?
If the slip and fall accident was caused by a hazardous or defection condition that was on someone’s property, then the owner could be held liable if he or she was aware of the condition but did not notify others.
How Is Liability Determined In A North Port And Fall Case?
Comparative negligence is a policy that the state of Florida has maintained for a long time. This policy is used to solve disputes that involve personal injury claims. Therefore, according to Florida law and comparative fault, your settlement could be decreased if you contributed to the accident. Below is a comparative negligence example.
If your injury claim is worth $100,000 and the jury decides that you were 30% at fault, then you can only be allowed to recover $70,000 since 30% will be deducted from the original award.
During the process of filing a slip and fall accident injury claim, you may be asked the following questions:
- What was your reason for being on the premise or property where the slip and fall accident occurred?
- If someone else was in the same situation, would that person have avoided the accident if he or she was aware of the hazardous condition?
- Did the property owner give a warning of the dangerous conditions that led to your slip and fall accident?
- Were you doing something else that may have contributed to the slip and fall accident that you were involved in?
How Much Is My Slip And Fall Case Worth?
You can determine the cost of your injury claim with the help of a legal representative. That is why it is advisable that you contact Winters And Yonker law firm to help you calculate how much your case is worth. Below are key factors used to determine how much a slip and fall case is worth?
Whether you spend more or less seeking treatment for injuries sustained, make sure that you include all medical expenses in your claim. If long-term treatment is required, be sure to include the extra cost that is involved.
Slip and fall victims can sustain severe injuries that can prevent them from working. When this happens, the party held liable should compensate the victim for lost wages.
Required Additional Expenses
If the victim requires special care because of the injury caused by the slip and fall accident, then these extra expenses are included in the personal injury claim. Other expenses that you can include are home modification expenses if you are forced to use a wheelchair or any other medical equipment that does not fit in the house.
What Are Florida’s Time Limits For Filing A Slip And Fall Lawsuit?
In North Port, FL, slip, and fall victims are given a maximum period of four years to file their case. This is according to the States statute of limitations. Therefore, after being involved in a slip and fall accident, you are required to file your case within this period with the help of a slip and fall lawyer.
Contact the Attorneys At Winters and Yonker Today
If you sustain serious injuries or got your property damaged as a result of a slip and fall accident, contact the Winters And Yonker law firm and we will review your case for free. Call us today at (888) 373-7770 and get the legal help that you need.