Victims of drink and drive accidents feel helpless because they don’t usually get reliable legal counsel. You are so busy recovering from your injuries that you don’t know your next move. Well, you need an experienced Palmetto drunk driving accident lawyer who can file a case against the offender so that he reimburses your medical bills and pays for his grave crime. And when it comes to experienced drunk driving lawyers, you can rely on Winters and Yonker. Our personal injury firm has a team of ruthless lawyers who won’t settle unless you receive your deserved money from the convict. You can call us at (888) 373-7770 to set up an appointment immediately.
Table of Contents
Drunk Driving Statistics in Palmetto
According to SafeWise, approximately 43.5% of Americans binge drink during holidays. The company also cites Palmetto’s data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Association that the city averages almost 5.72 impaired drink and driving deaths per 100,000 people. This makes Florida rank third in the most drunk-driving deaths per state in the US. The report also added that Christmas and New Year’s are two of the most deadly times for Florida residents as it receives approximately 305 drunk-driving fatalities every year.
What are the BAC Limits and Penalties in Florida?
It is illegal to drink and drive with a 0.08% BAC level in Florida for anyone above 21 years. The BAC level drops to 0.02% if you are under 21. Here are a few things that you should know about drink and drive penalties in Florida:
First-time DUI penalties for minors
The police will suspend your driving license for 6 months if you are not 21 and have a BAC of 0.02%. They will enroll you in an alcohol education program and suspend your license for 6 months if you are under 18. However, if your BAC is at least 0.08%, you may need to pay a fine of $500 to $1000, serve up to 6 months in jail, see your license suspended for 6 to 8 months, and offer 50 hours of community service.
DUI for adults
If you are 21 and have a BAC level of more than 0.08%, you will receive the following penalties:
- First-time offenders may have to pay fines between $1000 and $2000, spend up to 6 months in jail, see their vehicle impounded for 10 days, get a license suspension of 6 months, and serve 50 hours of community service.
- Second-time offenders may have to pay fines between $1000 and $4000, spend up to 10 days to 12 months in jail, see their vehicle impounded for 30 days, and get a license suspension of 1 year.
The judge also has the right to order the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device to track your movements. You may avoid the impoundment of your vehicle if your family has only one car.
What to do After an Accident with a Drunk Driver?
First of all, you should call an ambulance immediately. If you are injured, make sure you get medical attention first. Don’t wait to call the police before calling the ambulance. Here are a few more things that you can do until the ambulance arrives:
Call the Police
Bring the offender’s horrendous crime to the Palmetto, Florida’s, police’s attention immediately. Let them track him down while you receive medical care at the nearest hospital. You can even help the police by memorizing or noting the vehicle number before it escapes.
This is helpful when you talk to one of our auto accident lawyers. Almost everyone has a smartphone these days. We request you to take as many pictures of the crime scene as possible. Of course, if you are not in the condition to take photos, we completely understand that. We will send our lawyers to the spot to take pictures. But it may be too late by then. Therefore click a few pictures of signs of tire marks and damaged areas.
Call Winters And Yonker
Don’t hesitate to call us so that we can send a lawyer to talk to you immediately. We know that injured victims may take time to recover, and we don’t want them to take the trouble of coming to our office. Call us at (888) 373-7770 and describe your case. You will soon see a lawyer knocking at your hospital room’s door.
What Damages Can You Recover After A Drunk Driving Accident In Florida?
A DUI offender must pay for at least three types of expenses that you may incur after a DUI accident:
You can’t assess the amount of money you should receive if you lose your loved one in a DUI accident. Let our lawyers fight the case and help you get the maximum compensation you deserve.
Victims shouldn’t pay for accidents caused by drunken buffoons. Our lawyers will ensure that the offender pays for your medicines, counseling, medical equipment, transportation to the hospital, physical therapy, and doctor visits. He will also pay for vocational rehabilitation, depending on the treatment you need.
Lost Work Hours
You will lose a lot of money if you work on a daily-pay basis. That doesn’t mean you have to break the bank and take out money from your account. Your lawyer will calculate the total amount you should receive for your lost working hours and squeeze that money from the offender.
How Long Do I Have To File A Claim In Florida?
It is best to get in touch with us right after you reach the hospital. We know that you may not be in a position to call, but let someone else make the call on your behalf. Our lawyers must take immediate action so that the defense can’t make the first move. The lawyer will file a lawsuit once we have all the pieces of evidence against the offender. If you don’t have anyone to call on your behalf, make sure you call once you regain consciousness.
How Much Will A Palmetto Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer Cost?
This depends on your case. But we assure you that our fees are so competitive that you wouldn’t want to hire anyone else. Winters and Yonker is always at your service in Palmetto, Florida, if you need guidance with your DUI case. Let our experienced personal injury lawyers handle the case and help you receive maximum compensation for your medical bills.