Are you a victim of a drink and drive accident in Safety Harbor? Well, it’s a terrible feeling to meet an accident due to someone else’s carelessness. And, you shouldn’t take the incident lightly. DUI is an unforgivable offense. You should fight for justice and pressure the offender to pay your medical bills and everything. But you need legal help for that. Contact a Safety Harbor drunk driving accident lawyer at Winters & Yonker today.
You may not know the legal procedure to file such cases. Let us handle the legal part while you recuperate at home. Winters and Yonker is one of the leading personal injury law firms in Safety Harbor with the experience of handling tons of DUI cases. Allow us to take over the case and win it on your behalf.
Table of Contents
Drunk Driving Statistics in Florida
Florida ranks 46 for DUI cases in the US. The percentage of DUI-related arrests stands at 32.3%, according to the statistics from the US Department of Transportation, FBI crime reports, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The National Highway Traffic Safety Association adds that Florida peaked at the highest number of arrests with 286.29 arrests per year between 2009 and 2020. The increasing numbers are raising several question marks regarding the government’s control over such matters. This has led the government to implement stricter rules than before to tackle hundreds of DUI cases every year.
What are the BAC limits in Florida?
Any driver above 21 with a BAC level more than or equal to 0.08% may face significant punishments if caught. The BAC level for minors below 21 is 0.02%. Here are the latest rules regarding penalties, fines, and punishments in Safety Harbor for DUI cases.
- The minimum license suspension or revocation for first, second, and third-time offenders are 6 months, 12 months, and 24 months, respectively.
- Every convict must enroll in mandatory alcohol education and assessment and treatment education.
- The police may confiscate the second-time convict’s vehicle for 30 days. Additionally, they may also install an Ignition Interlock Device to track the offender’s movements. However, they can do this only if the judge orders them to.
- The fines for first-time and second-time offenders are $1000 to $2000 and $1000 to $4000, respectively.
- Both first-time and second-time offenders need to go to jail. The jail time for first-time offenders is 6 months and second-time offenders is 1 year.
- First-time offenders also need to do compulsory community service for 50 hours.
- Minors have a slightly different rule: their minimum license suspension for first-timers is 6 months. People within 18 to 21 and a BAC level of 0.08% may serve up to 6 months in jail and pay a fine up to $1000. Additionally, he has to provide 50 hours of community service and surrender his license for 6 to 8 months.
What to do After an Accident with a Drunk Driver?
First of all, try to get up and find your phone. You can call your emergency contact or ask someone to dial the number for you. Assess your injury. Are you bleeding all over? Or maybe can’t walk without someone’s help? Get medical help irrespective of your condition. A sudden blow to your head can cause a concussion, leading to temporary dizziness. Wait for the paramedics to come to your rescue. In the meantime, you should start clicking photos of the crime scene. Look for tire marks or damaged light posts. Don’t forget to click as many photos as possible to help the police and the lawyers later.
In addition to calling for medical help, you should also call the nearest police station. Describe the incident in detail to the police. Discuss what actions they are going to take against the offender. You can even show them the pictures you just clicked. It will be very helpful if you can note the offender’s vehicle number. This makes it easier for the police to track the guy down quickly.
Once you reach the hospital and get appropriate treatment, your next move is to call Winters and Yonker. Tell us everything you had told the police earlier. We recommend you specify each detail because it helps us set up the case accordingly. Our lawyers need facts to build a case that the opponent can’t cross. This increases your chances of receiving a high amount of compensation.
What Damages Can You Recover After a Drunk Driving Accident in Florida?
Our lawyers try their best to make the convict pay a significant amount of compensation that covers your medical bills, lost wages, and punitive damages.
Imagine losing your loved one in the accident. There’s no way you can put a value on lost life. But the convict is liable to pay for his sins. We will convince the judge that he orders the offender to pay your punitive damages instead of settling for your medical bills.
The convict will also pay your medical bills. He will bear all the costs from the moment the paramedics take you from the accident spot to the hospital. The costs will include your transportation charges from the crime scene to the hospital, doctor’s fees, diagnostic tests, medicines, physiotherapy costs, rehabilitation costs, and counseling charges.
We will also make the convict pay for your lost wages. An accident may injure you to the extent that you can’t go to the office for a few weeks. This means you may not receive your due salary or get a pay-cut. Why should you suffer such financial losses due to someone else’s mistake? Let us handle the case and get your deserved compensation.
How Long do I Have to File a Claim in Florida?
You should file a DUI accident case as soon as possible to increase your chances of receiving maximum compensation for your damages. Don’t let the convict put up a strong case by delaying your actions. Call the police and Winters and Yonker immediately once you can speak confidently.
How Much Will a Safety Harbor Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer Cost?
This depends on the outcome of the case. We won’t charge a dime if we can’t win. If we do, we take a small percentage of the compensation that you receive.