Winter Garden, FL, is a rapidly growing city with a small-town vibe that features a few picturesque parks, an appealing red-bricked downtown, and fairly-priced real estate. There are about 40,000 residents in this city, and it’s deemed among the most up-and-coming municipalities in the Central Florida region. But all this prosperity has not eliminated the threat of drunk driving on our Winter Garden roads.
Driving under the influence of alcohol is among the top causes of accidents in Florida, and throughout the U.S. Being the victim of any type of accident is traumatic. It’s especially upsetting knowing your injuries could have been prevented if the driver didn’t choose to get behind the wheel while intoxicated.
If you or a loved one was the victim, you should consider getting in touch with the passionate and experienced Winter Garden drunk driving accident lawyers at Winters & Yonker. We have recovered millions of dollars on behalf of clients injured in auto accidents.
Our team of car accident lawyers take a more hands-on approach, and will aggressively pursue your claim against insurance service providers, drunk drivers, and any other liable party. You can get in touch with us at (888) 373-7770.
Table of Contents
Drunk Driving Statistics In Florida
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles reported that there were 5,125 alcohol-associated auto accidents in Florida. The report continues to show that 350 individuals died in these accidents. Even though not all of them had been drinking, they were all affected by the negligent actions of another driver. According to another report from the FHSMV, alcohol-related accidents reduced from 2017 (417 fatalities) to 2018 (350).
What Are The BAC Limits In Florida?
The permissible blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in the state of Florida is 0.08%. The punishment for driving while under the influence of alcohol for first offenders includes an increase in insurance premiums and fines – all of which amount to approximately $8,000. Here’s a breakdown of the penalties for offenders:
- Community service: 50 hours
- Probation: for a period not exceeding one year
- Fine: $250 – $500
- Imprisonment: Period not exceeding six months
- Imprisonment for blood alcohol content exceeding 0.08% with minor in the car: a period not exceeding nine months
- DUI school:12 hours
- License revocation: at least 180 days
The state of Florida also adheres to “Zero Tolerance” laws when it comes to drivers under the age of 21. If they are stopped by the police and are found to have a BAC of 0.02% or more, their license will automatically be suspended for six months.
What To Do After an Accident With a Drunk Driver?
Drunk driving kills more than 10,000 individuals each year. The hearing, eyesight, and judgment of a drunk driver are not as acute as they ought to be. This can see them overlook red lights, drift into lanes, speed, ignore traffic regulations, and make several other reckless mistakes.
If their reckless behavior resulted in an accident, they can be held accountable. Law enforcement and legal experts recommend that you take certain steps if you get involved in a drunk driving crash. Here’s what to do after an accident with a drunk driver:
- Look to see whether you’re injured
- Call the police and wait for assistance
- Collect Evidence
- Exchange Information
- Call a Lawyer
What Damages Can You Recover After a Drunk Driving Accident in Florida?
Accidents can result in severe, permanent injuries or even death. If you’ve sustained an injury from a drunk driving crash, or if a cherished one has died because of the crash, there’s a range of damages you can recoup in a personal injury or wrongful death claim. A professional drunk driving accident attorney can review your case and establish the damages suffered in order to maximize your compensation.
Some of the damages you can recover include;
- Medical costs, including medical equipment used like wheelchairs or crutches, prosthetics, surgical procedures, and prescriptions
- Lost wages for work missed
- Loss of earning capability
- Pain and suffering
In addition, drunk driving claims are set up to include punitive damages. The purpose of these damages is to penalize the defendant rather than compensating the victim. Given how a drunk driver endangers the lives of everybody on the road, it provides an excellent basis to seek punitive damages.
How Long Do I Have to File a Claim in Florida?
As per the statute of limitations Florida, a DUI victim is given four years following the accident to file a personal injury suit against the at-fault party. After that time window has shut, you won’t be able to pursue your claim and it will be deemed void by the court. Make sure that you hire a qualified attorney to take care of all the legal matters as you recuperate.
How Much Will an Attorney Cost?
Our Winter Garden Drunk driving accident lawyers believe that those individuals who act with reckless disregard for the safety of others in this community should be held accountable. If you or a cherished one have been the victim of a drunk driving accident, you don’t have to worry about paying us anything upfront.
We offer our expert legal services on a contingency fee basis. With us, you can expect no fees, no costs, unless we WIN! In this case, you can be sure that we will do our best to win the case for you.
Contact Our Winter Garden Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers
There’s nothing as painful as dealing with the aftermath of a severe or fatal drunk driving accident. The fact that it could have been avoided just makes it worse. If you are the victim of such a horrendous occurrence, you may be entitled to seek compensation.
To initiate the legal proceedings, call our effective and zealous Winter Garden drunk driving accident attorneys. We will empathize with you and your situation and we will work tirelessly to ensure that you receive the recompense you’re owed. Contact our Florida car accident law firm at (888) 373-7770 TODAY!