What Are My Rights If I Am Injured In A Hit And Run Accident In Tampa, Florida?
A hit and run is a frightening experience for most people. A hit and run accident not only causes property damage but may lead to serious injuries to the other driver. Any individual in Tampa, FL, who has been injured in a hit or run or has lost a family member should speak to a car accident lawyer immediately. While you may initially feel helpless, you have more rights than you may know. A Tampa car wreck attorney can help you bring the other driver to justice. As well as get you the maximum amount of compensation.
Hit and run accidents are classified as such when a driver hits another vehicle, but instead of stopping and facing the situation, they flee the scene of the accident. There are many reasons why a particular driver would run away after hitting another car. It is possible that they are uninsured. It is also possible the driver realizes that the accident is pretty serious. The driver realizes they could get into trouble and face jail time. Finally, it is possible that the driver was doing something illegal or had committed a crime. Whatever the situation, if you are in a hit and run accident in Tampa, FL, contact a car accident lawyer.
Hit and Run Car Accident Statistics in Florida
Data from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) reveal that nearly 25 percent of car accidents in Florida involve a driver who has fled the scene of the accident. However, in Florida, there are strict laws for those who flee the scene of an accident. Any driver involved in a car accident resulting in property damage or injury must remain at the scene. For those who flee, the penalties are very serious. Discuss this with your car accident lawyer. Find out what possible penalties the driver who hit you face if you take legal action against them.
What Are The Legal Obligations In Tampa, FL For Drivers Involved In A Car Accident?
When an accident happens on the roads in Tampa, FL there are certain legal obligations for both drivers:
- Stay at the scene of the road accident. Call 911
- Exchange your name, phone, address, car registration and insurance details with the other driver
- Provide information about the accident to the police
- If you have caused property damage, try and locate the property owner. If you can’t find the owner, leave a note in a secure place with your contact number, your car registration. Then report the accident to the police.
- If injured, seek immediate medical attention.
- For others injured, request medical help immediately.
What Are Penalties For Leaving The Scene Of An Accident?
A driver involved in a car accident fleeing the scene faces the following charges:
- If there are any injuries, this can result in a 2nd or 3rd-degree felony. Your driver’s license can be revoked for up to 3 years. In addition, you may end up in jail for five years and face a $500 fine.
- If there is property damage, this is a 2nd-degree misdemeanor. This translates to an automatic 60 days incarceration and a $500 monetary penalty.
- If there is a fatality, this is a 2nd-degree felony. The driver faces a license revocation of three years and a minimum of 4 years in jail and a $10,000 fine.
Contact A Tampa Car Accident Lawyer
If you were involved and injured in a hit and run accident or if you have lost a loved one in a hit and run accident, you are entitled to full compensation for all your injuries and any property damage that occurred. Call our car wreck lawyers at Winters and Yonker so that we can tell you how we can help you get the compensation you deserve. Being in a car accident can be difficult to handle, but things become even more frustrating if the driver who hit did not even have the decency to hang around and face the consequences. We can help you get justice. Our car accident lawyer will ensure that the person who fled the scene is accountable for their actions. Call our car wreck lawyer today and schedule your first consultation, absolutely free of cost.