According to statistics, over 5,000 drunk driving accidents occur in Florida on an annual basis. There are hundreds of people that die as a result of these incidents. Victims can be injured severely, leading to expensive medical treatments. They may also need counseling because of the psychological trauma from the accident.
If you were involved in a DUI crash, you will want a skilled Seffner drunk driving accident lawyer to help you recover the compensation you deserve. At Winters & Yonker, our car accident attorneys are experienced in handling DUI accident claims. Contact us today at (888) 373-7770 for a free consultation.
Table of Contents
Drunk Driving Statistics in Florida
All throughout the United States, there are drunk driving incidents, perpetrated by those that are under the influence of alcohol. Over 10,000 people every year nationally are arrested for this type of incident. In the state of Florida, this number is over 800. Of those incidents, this will result in over 20 fatalities. For those that are under the age of 21, more than 60 people are killed.
What Are The BAC Limits in Florida?
In the state of Florida, the blood alcohol content legal limit is .08%. You are not able to drive legally if it exceeds this amount. Drivers under the age of 21 may face a license suspension for up to six months if their blood alcohol level is under .02%. This is the same for people that are under the age of 18. However, if their blood alcohol level is in excess of .08 or more, they could face a one-year license suspension.
Fines of up to $1,000 are also possible, plus up to six months of jail time and 50 hours of community service. These are just the penalties that a drunk driver can face for being arrested when under the influence. This does not count the type of liabilities that can come their way through the court system from people that are suing them because of injuries that they have sustained.
What Should You Do If You Are Involved in an Accident With a Drunk Driver?
There are several things that you should do immediately following an accident that is involved with a drunk driver. First of all, you need to call an ambulance, especially if you know that someone has been seriously injured. Next, you must call the police. You need to have police officers there that can assist and also do an official report.
Gathering evidence would be the next step which will include taking photos. If possible, exchange information with any witnesses that are there. You will need their help later on.
Even if you don’t think you’re seriously hurt, you should see a medical professional in order to make sure you don’t have internal injuries. When this goes to court, you will want to have the police report and witness statements to back up your case and medical records to support your claim for damages.
What Damages Can You Recover in a Drunk Driving Accident Case?
Drunk drivers are going to face criminal penalties. They can also be held liable in civil court and made to pay compensation. If the victim is seriously injured or killed by a drunk driver, this can lead to a sizable settlement on the part of the person filing the lawsuit.
Plaintiffs in a drunk driving case can be awarded three types of damages:
Economic damages provide compensation for financial losses related to the accident, like medical bills, lost wages from time off work, and the cost of repairing/replacing your car. If someone is killed, the surviving family can be reimbursed for funeral expenses and the loss of the deceased’s income.
Non-economic damages may include compensation for pain and suffering, loss of companionship if your loved one was killed, and reduced quality of life if you are disabled and can’t enjoy the same activities.
If the victim is seriously injured or killed by a drunk driver, this can lead to a sizable settlement on the part of the person filing the lawsuit.
Punitive damages aren’t intended to compensate the victim, but instead to punish the defendant for intentional misconduct or gross negligence.
Statute of Limitations on Filing a Claim in Florida
The statute of limitations for filing a personal claim in Florida is four years. If your loved one was killed, you have two years to file a wrongful death case. If you wait too long, you will not be able to pursue any type of legal action. That’s why it is imperative that you contact a local attorney that can help you with this situation.
How Much Money Will It Cost to Hire An Attorney?
Many people may be concerned about paying for a drunk driving accident lawyer. Here at Winters & Yonker, our attorneys work on a contingency fee arrangement. This means you don’t pay anything upfront. Your lawyer receives a percentage of your settlement amount or the compensation awarded by the court.
If they are not able to win your case, they are not paid. In this arrangement, your lawyer is motivated to help you win the maximum compensation and you don’t have to worry about paying out of pocket.
Contact Our Seffner Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers
Drunk driving accidents can cause serious injuries, leading to hospital stays as well as rehabilitation procedures that can last for months. It is important to get file a claim against the drunk driver and get the compensation you deserve. For this, you should work with a highly skilled lawyer that has done this before.
If you are looking for a drunk driving accident lawyer in the Seffner, Florida area, contact Winters & Yonker today. We are a trusted personal injury law firm and have helped clients recover millions of dollars. We are prepared to aggressively represent you in settlement negotiations and in court. Call (888) 373-7770 for a free case review and let us get started on your drunk driving accident claim.